Post Match NRL 2019 - Round 7 - Storm vs Warriors Post Match Discussion

Game Information

Vs

01 Jan 1970 12:00
minute

Rate the game.

  • A+

    Votes: 16 12.6%
  • A

    Votes: 58 45.7%
  • B

    Votes: 49 38.6%
  • C

    Votes: 3 2.4%
  • F-

    Votes: 1 0.8%

  • Total voters
    127

Old Sid

1st Grade Fringe
Nov 8, 2014
714
"But it's one where you certainly can't hang the referees over that outcome when you look at what they were confronted with."

But you could potentially deny the warriors from playing finals footy. God Damn bring in the captains challenge. That was an obvious place to use it correctly.
Or a quick bunker check...this is material to the outcome guys, give me some guidance please....?
 

FuNQie

1st Grade Fringe
Nov 30, 2018
473
Our great friend Jamie Soward has given us his rating once again. We stay on 16th spot in his NRL Power Rankings. Here is his ‘justification’:

16. New Zealand Warriors (16)
Tried hard in Melbourne and probably deserved a win, but I left them in last spot because I hate them and there's too many inconsistencies. I don't know which Warriors team we're going to get and they don't have that identity they had last year. They should be better with the talent they have but haven't consistently performed.

You might spot a bit of editorialising there. 🤗
 

FuNQie

1st Grade Fringe
Nov 30, 2018
473
Well waddyaknow, we woz robbed - and the NRL agree!


NRL confirms refs got it wrong in controversial late penalty against Warriors in loss to Storm


David Long

The NRL's head of football elite competitions Graham Annesley says the referees got it wrong in awarding the controversial penalty that led to the Warriors losing to the Storm.

The Storm defeated the Warriors 13-12 on Anzac Day, in circumstances that infuriated Warriors fans.

With four minutes left and trailing by two points, a penalty was awarded close to the Warriors line, with the referees ruling that Adam Blair and Isaiah Papali'i slowed down Jesse Bromwich being able to take a quick play-the-ball.

The ball did make its way to Storm hooker Cameron Smith, who then knocked it on.
Cameron Munster goaled the penalty and then a minute later Brodie Croft kicked the field goal to hand the Warriors a heartbreaking loss.

Warriors coach Stephen Kearney was clearly upset with the call in his post-match press conference and in Annesley's weekly media address he stated the referees made a mistake and it should have been a scrum to the Warriors for the knock-on.

The Storm were given a controversial penalty in the last few minutes of their game against the Warriors.

PHOTOSPORT
The Storm were given a controversial penalty in the last few minutes of their game against the Warriors.

"There are two tacklers involved, both have got their arms around him (Bromwich)," Annesley said as he ran through footage of the incident.

"Gets up, tries to play the ball with the defence still on him, makes a mess of the play the ball, Cameron Smith knocks on and the whole play breaks down.

"The question for the referees to decide was if the tacklers were too slow to get off, or did the player in possession try to play the ball too quickly?

"We've looked at it quite a few times this morning and we think on balance that probably the play-the-ball was too quick, before the defence had time to release.

Graham Annesley addressed the media on Monday around the week seven action.

GETTY IMAGES
Graham Annesley addressed the media on Monday around the week seven action.
"But you can understand the dilemma the referees had here, in that you've got a play-the-ball you can't accept, you can't play on from this, there's a knock on from dummy half for a start.

"The referees have to determine whether that's been caused by the ball carrier trying to play the ball before the defenders have had a chance to release, or if the defenders had time to release and they've interfered with the play-the-ball.

"On balance, we think a scrum would have been a better outcome, but it's very difficult to blame the referees for that decision in a split second."

The referees were Matt Cecchin and Dave Munro and even though they got the call wrong, Annesley said there wouldn't be any punishment for them.


"Even though I think a scrum would have been a better outcome, is it the sort of decision where you can take action against the infield decision? Well it just doesn't fall into that category," he said.

Annesley said it was the most controversial moment in round seven, but felt that this was because it was a decision that played a part in the result of the game.

"In the context of the game, I can understand why there is a large degree of controversy around this penalty," he said.

"If you move that incident into 10 minutes into the first half, it doesn't even raise a mention at any stage during or after the game, but in the context of the game, it's a massive call.

"But it's one where you certainly can't hang the referees over that outcome when you look at what they were confronted with."
 
  • Angry
Reactions: mt.wellington

mtsmart

1st Grade Fringe
Jul 19, 2013
666
Well waddyaknow, we woz robbed - and the NRL agree!


NRL confirms refs got it wrong in controversial late penalty against Warriors in loss to Storm


David Long

The NRL's head of football elite competitions Graham Annesley says the referees got it wrong in awarding the controversial penalty that led to the Warriors losing to the Storm.

The Storm defeated the Warriors 13-12 on Anzac Day, in circumstances that infuriated Warriors fans.

With four minutes left and trailing by two points, a penalty was awarded close to the Warriors line, with the referees ruling that Adam Blair and Isaiah Papali'i slowed down Jesse Bromwich being able to take a quick play-the-ball.

The ball did make its way to Storm hooker Cameron Smith, who then knocked it on.
Cameron Munster goaled the penalty and then a minute later Brodie Croft kicked the field goal to hand the Warriors a heartbreaking loss.

Warriors coach Stephen Kearney was clearly upset with the call in his post-match press conference and in Annesley's weekly media address he stated the referees made a mistake and it should have been a scrum to the Warriors for the knock-on.

The Storm were given a controversial penalty in the last few minutes of their game against the Warriors.

PHOTOSPORT
The Storm were given a controversial penalty in the last few minutes of their game against the Warriors.

"There are two tacklers involved, both have got their arms around him (Bromwich)," Annesley said as he ran through footage of the incident.

"Gets up, tries to play the ball with the defence still on him, makes a mess of the play the ball, Cameron Smith knocks on and the whole play breaks down.

"The question for the referees to decide was if the tacklers were too slow to get off, or did the player in possession try to play the ball too quickly?

"We've looked at it quite a few times this morning and we think on balance that probably the play-the-ball was too quick, before the defence had time to release.

Graham Annesley addressed the media on Monday around the week seven action.

GETTY IMAGES
Graham Annesley addressed the media on Monday around the week seven action.
"But you can understand the dilemma the referees had here, in that you've got a play-the-ball you can't accept, you can't play on from this, there's a knock on from dummy half for a start.

"The referees have to determine whether that's been caused by the ball carrier trying to play the ball before the defenders have had a chance to release, or if the defenders had time to release and they've interfered with the play-the-ball.

"On balance, we think a scrum would have been a better outcome, but it's very difficult to blame the referees for that decision in a split second."

The referees were Matt Cecchin and Dave Munro and even though they got the call wrong, Annesley said there wouldn't be any punishment for them.


"Even though I think a scrum would have been a better outcome, is it the sort of decision where you can take action against the infield decision? Well it just doesn't fall into that category," he said.

Annesley said it was the most controversial moment in round seven, but felt that this was because it was a decision that played a part in the result of the game.

"In the context of the game, I can understand why there is a large degree of controversy around this penalty," he said.

"If you move that incident into 10 minutes into the first half, it doesn't even raise a mention at any stage during or after the game, but in the context of the game, it's a massive call.

"But it's one where you certainly can't hang the referees over that outcome when you look at what they were confronted with."

Not the first time an NRL official has admitted the Warriors have gotten a wrong call that cost them dearly. But it keeps on happening regardless, they (the NRL powers-that-be) don't seem bothered enough to do anything about it.
 

jonesy101

1st Grade Fringe
Aug 28, 2016
1,107
Not the first time an NRL official has admitted the Warriors have gotten a wrong call that cost them dearly. But it keeps on happening regardless, they (the NRL powers-that-be) don't seem bothered enough to do anything about it.
Hypothetically if the ref calls a scrum, does it give the bunker the opportunity to advise the ref to overturn the decision if its clearly evident that there was interference in the play the ball? Or would the decision still stand? Just thinking in those doubtful situations the ref should be calling a scrum. However would hate to see the game slowed in any way for the bunker to be making multiple checks.
 

Uk Warriors fan

1st Grade Fringe
Aug 14, 2017
320
An apology doesn't help. The Warriors are always getting dicked over by the refs. Just look at that Sharks game last year which cost them a place in the top 4.
What did the nrl say about this? The lines person gets it wrong......sorry (until next time) 🤬
 

Stalefish540

.
Contributor
May 13, 2017
2,811
Mt. Smart
Well waddyaknow, we woz robbed - and the NRL agree!


NRL confirms refs got it wrong in controversial late penalty against Warriors in loss to Storm


David Long

The NRL's head of football elite competitions Graham Annesley says the referees got it wrong in awarding the controversial penalty that led to the Warriors losing to the Storm.

The Storm defeated the Warriors 13-12 on Anzac Day, in circumstances that infuriated Warriors fans.

With four minutes left and trailing by two points, a penalty was awarded close to the Warriors line, with the referees ruling that Adam Blair and Isaiah Papali'i slowed down Jesse Bromwich being able to take a quick play-the-ball.

The ball did make its way to Storm hooker Cameron Smith, who then knocked it on.
Cameron Munster goaled the penalty and then a minute later Brodie Croft kicked the field goal to hand the Warriors a heartbreaking loss.

Warriors coach Stephen Kearney was clearly upset with the call in his post-match press conference and in Annesley's weekly media address he stated the referees made a mistake and it should have been a scrum to the Warriors for the knock-on.

The Storm were given a controversial penalty in the last few minutes of their game against the Warriors.

PHOTOSPORT
The Storm were given a controversial penalty in the last few minutes of their game against the Warriors.

"There are two tacklers involved, both have got their arms around him (Bromwich)," Annesley said as he ran through footage of the incident.

"Gets up, tries to play the ball with the defence still on him, makes a mess of the play the ball, Cameron Smith knocks on and the whole play breaks down.

"The question for the referees to decide was if the tacklers were too slow to get off, or did the player in possession try to play the ball too quickly?

"We've looked at it quite a few times this morning and we think on balance that probably the play-the-ball was too quick, before the defence had time to release.

Graham Annesley addressed the media on Monday around the week seven action.

GETTY IMAGES
Graham Annesley addressed the media on Monday around the week seven action.
"But you can understand the dilemma the referees had here, in that you've got a play-the-ball you can't accept, you can't play on from this, there's a knock on from dummy half for a start.

"The referees have to determine whether that's been caused by the ball carrier trying to play the ball before the defenders have had a chance to release, or if the defenders had time to release and they've interfered with the play-the-ball.

"On balance, we think a scrum would have been a better outcome, but it's very difficult to blame the referees for that decision in a split second."

The referees were Matt Cecchin and Dave Munro and even though they got the call wrong, Annesley said there wouldn't be any punishment for them.


"Even though I think a scrum would have been a better outcome, is it the sort of decision where you can take action against the infield decision? Well it just doesn't fall into that category," he said.

Annesley said it was the most controversial moment in round seven, but felt that this was because it was a decision that played a part in the result of the game.

"In the context of the game, I can understand why there is a large degree of controversy around this penalty," he said.

"If you move that incident into 10 minutes into the first half, it doesn't even raise a mention at any stage during or after the game, but in the context of the game, it's a massive call.

"But it's one where you certainly can't hang the referees over that outcome when you look at what they were confronted with."
Not even Annesley gets it. The whole problem is the ref never called surrender tackle ffs. What a bunch of numpties.
 

Uk Warriors fan

1st Grade Fringe
Aug 14, 2017
320
Not even Annesley gets it. The whole problem is the ref never called surrender tackle ffs. What a bunch of numpties.
The thing that pisses me off is Cecchin made the call 10m back with an obstructed view. Papalii was looking at the other ref to tell him the call. Penalty or no penalty, we got done by the refs more than once that night.
 

Raw Power

1st Grade Fringe
Aug 30, 2016
1,144
Brisbane
Not even Annesley gets it. The whole problem is the ref never called surrender tackle ffs. What a bunch of numpties.

My Thoughts Exactly!
...and also the Storm mistake in play the ball missed by all officials just before halftime, which left the Warriors with more defending to do and could have led to more Storm points?
 

jonno

Warriors 1st Grader
Jul 13, 2014
9,803
Not only do we have the hardest travel schedule, the hardest recruitment obstacles, and the dumbest coach, but the NRL also has to give us the most biased refs as well?

Talk about kicking a dog when it's down. These guy are pure sadists.
 

gREVUS

Long live the Rainbows and Butterflies
Contributor
May 8, 2012
8,747
Or a quick bunker check...this is material to the outcome guys, give me some guidance please....?
not allowed to go to the bunker while play is ongoing. If they had called a scrum, it could have been overturned by the bunker (which wouldnt have surprised me) but as they didnt.
 

gREVUS

Long live the Rainbows and Butterflies
Contributor
May 8, 2012
8,747
Can someone explain why this is a penalty
At the game, and from my angle his head was lower than his body as he went down and it looked as though he was going to land on it. live it looked really bad. The TV shows it differently, and live I had no trouble with the penalty. I assume that the ref who called the play was the one at my end of the pitch and had a similar view?

only other thing could be that I heard the held call multiple times in the replay but no idea if that even came from the pocket ref.

Just an unlucky call in the heat of the game imo. Like I said live i had no issue with the call. But I was opposite to Cheechin who blew the whistle. would need to see an expanded view to know if the pocket ref was the one who gave the call or not?
 

Stalefish540

.
Contributor
May 13, 2017
2,811
Mt. Smart
At the game, and from my angle his head was lower than his body as he went down and it looked as though he was going to land on it. live it looked really bad. The TV shows it differently, and live I had no trouble with the penalty. I assume that the ref who called the play was the one at my end of the pitch and had a similar view?

only other thing could be that I heard the held call multiple times in the replay but no idea if that even came from the pocket ref.

Just an unlucky call in the heat of the game imo. Like I said live i had no issue with the call. But I was opposite to Cheechin who blew the whistle. would need to see an expanded view to know if the pocket ref was the one who gave the call or not?
It was one of 3 piggy back calls Storm conviently got out of their red zone when we had them under the pump. There was nothing wrong with the tackle, just poor reffing.
 

gREVUS

Long live the Rainbows and Butterflies
Contributor
May 8, 2012
8,747
It was one of 3 piggy back calls Storm conviently got out of their red zone when we had them under the pump. There was nothing wrong with the tackle, just poor reffing.
looking at the replayyour right. live i got it wrong as well, just like the ref.
 

Last Game

27 Aug

16 - 28
5.6 Total Avg Rating
0.0 Your Avg Rating

Highest Rated Player

Lowest Rated Player

Compiled from 5 ratings