General 2018 Warriors Awards


Warriors Orange Peeler
2018 Warriors Awards
Awards night is on the 2nd of September so the Sunday after the Raiders game.

You can already vote for your Vodafone Peoples Choice award at the link below. You can win an invite for the Awards night. That prize is drawn on the 5th of September :confused::(:banghead:.



Monday is actually the 3rd while the 5th is on the Wednesday. Not to mention the awards were on the Sunday lol...
U would think Roger Tuivasa-Sheck would win it in a canter being in the running for the dally m and all but having a look at the average player ratings on this site for the year I actually have Shaun Johnson ahead of him and so does the site as a whole.
He would have to be in the running for dally m halfback of the year as would Fusitua on the wing- Luke likely to miss out to cook at hooker.


Player Agent
Rugby League: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck named Warriors NRL Player of the Year
2 Sep, 2018 8:45pm
3 minutes to read

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck is the Warriors Player of the Year. Photo / Getty

By: David Skipwith
Sports writer

Warriors captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has been named the Player of the Year for the second season in a row at the Warriors' annual awards in Auckland tonight.

The 25-year-old fullback is the inaugural winner of the Simon Mannering Medal, announced tonight to honour the retiring club legend following his 300th NRL appearance in Friday's win over Canberra.

Tuivasa-Sheck is the fourth player to take out the award more than once following five-time winner Mannering and two-time winners Steve Price and Ben Matulino.

The Kiwi international also had the support of fans, claiming the People's Choice Award which is voted on by the public, while he remains a front-runner to take out the Dally M Award for the NRL's player of the year to be named later this month ahead of the grand final.

The recognition comes after Tuivasa-Sheck re-signed with the Warriors for four years just before the season started before going on to play 22 of 24 games, leading the club to their first finals appearance in seven years.

The Warriors capped their regular season campaign and celebrated Mannering's 300th appearance with a tense 20-16 win over the Raiders at Mt Smart Stadium to give them a 15-9 record, tied for the second best record in the club's 24-year history.

Along the way, Tuivasa-Sheck has carved out a total of 4058 metres (fourth best in the NRL), averaging 184 metres a game including 1093 post-contact metres. In the round 23 win over Newcastle, Tuivasa-Sheck made 338 metres, while he leads the way in kick return metres (1330) and sits fifth for most tackle breaks (109).

"I want to thank everyone who played a part in choosing this award," said Tuivasa-Sheck.

"It just comes down to my team. Thank you boys for all of your support.

"It's been unreal, always coming in every day to training and competing and helping me to become a better player.

"I appreciate it, this one's for the team."

The other nominees for the Player of the Year gong were front rower Agnatius Paasi, hooker Issac Luke, bench utility Jazz Tevaga and left wing Ken Maumalo.

Meanwhile, captain James Bell collected the two awards for the Warriors' Intrust Super Premiership side – as the ISP Team Man of the Year and ISP Player of the Year.

The Warriors NRL Rookie of the Year is second rower Isaiah Papali'i while five-eighth Blake Green claimed the Clubman of the Year award in his first season in Auckland.

Long-time team manager Laurie Hale was named the Club Person of the Year and Jayden Penerate was recognised as the Sir Peter Leitch Member of the Year.


Sir Peter Leitch Member of the Year - Jayden Penerata
People's Choice Award - Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
ISP Team Man of the Year - James Bell
NRL Rookie of the Year - Isaiah Papali'i
Club Person of the Year - Laurie Hale
Clubman of the Year - Blake Green
ISP Player of the Year - James Bell
NRL Player of the Year - Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Simon Mannering Medal)


1995 Tea Ropati
1996 Stephen Kearney
1997 Stacey Jones
1998 Joe Vagana
1999 Jason Death
2000 Robert Mears
2001 Jerry Seuseu
2002 Ali Lauitiiti
2003 Francis Meli
2004 Wairangi Koopu
2005 Ruben Wiki
2006 Steve Price
2007 Steve Price
2008 Simon Mannering
2009 Micheal Luck
2010 Manu Vatuvei
2011 Simon Mannering
2012 Ben Matulino
2013 Simon Mannering
2014 Simon Mannering
2015 Ben Matulino
2016 Simon Mannering
2017 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
2018 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
Most clubs would wait till Mannering retired before naming the players medal after him.

Nice touch from the Warriors to break with tradition.

Should be the first and last time they do something like that to maintain the tradition for Mannering.