Maori squad named for All Stars

  • Author
  • Publish date
  • Article read time 1 min read
The fans have had their say, putting together a strong Maori men’s side for this month’s clash against the Indigenous All Stars in Melbourne.

A number of capped Kiwi internationals feature, including veteran campaigners Jesse Bromwich, Adam Blair, Tohu Harris and Kevin Proctor, while the Stacey Jones coached side also includes Queensland State of Origin stars Kalyn Ponga and Dane Gagai.

Both of those players – along with Australian Test props Jordan McLean and James Tamou – qualify through Maori heritage.

The revamped All Stars concept takes place on February 15 at AAMI Park in Melbourne, with the men’s match following a clash between the Maori and Indigenous women.

New Zealand Maori All Stars: Peta Hiku (Warriors); Dane Gagai (Rabbitohs), Esan Marsters (Wests Tigers), Dean Whare (Panthers), Jordan Kahu (Broncos); Kalyn Ponga (Knights), Jahrome Hughes (Storm); Jesse Bromwich (Storm), Brandon Smith (Storm), Jordan McLean (Cowboys), Kevin Proctor (Titans), Tohu Harris (Warriors), Adam Blair (Warriors). Interchange: Danny Levi (Knights), Brad Takairangi (Eels), James Fisher-Harris (Panthers), James Tamou (Panthers), Gerard Beale (Warriors), Corey Harawira-Naera (Bulldogs), Joseph Tapine (Raiders).

Indigenous All Stars: Ben Barba (Cowboys); Blake Ferguson (Eels), James Roberts (Broncos), Latrell Mitchell (Roosters), Josh Addo-Carr (Storm); Cody Walker (Rabbitohs), Tyrone Roberts (Titans); Andrew Fifita (Sharks), Nathan Peats (Titans), TBA, David Fifita (Broncos), Adam Elliott (Bulldogs), Tyrone Peachey (Titans). Interchange: Will Chambers (Storm), Leilani Latu (Titans), Chris Smith (Bulldogs), Alex Johnston (Rabbitohs), Jesse Ramien (Knights), Tyrell Fuimaono (Panthers), Kotoni Staggs (Broncos).
About author


There are no comments to display.

Article information

Article read time
1 min read
Last update

More in General Rugby League / NRL

More from

Share this article